…insist gov must run for second term to consolidate good works


Stakeholders of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Oke Ogun Zone of Oyo State have passed a vote of confidence in Governor Seyi Makinde, stating that his administration’s achievements in a little over two years are unprecedented and commendable.

The party members, which comprised the 10 local government chairmen, vice chairmen, councillors, political appointees in the Makinde government as well as party leaders from all the 10 councils of Oke Ogun, converged on Otu, headquarters of Itesiwaju Local Government, on Wednesday.

At the end of the meeting convened by the 10 elected council chairmen from Oke Ogun Zone, the stakeholders resolved that the governor should run for another term of four years, noting that Makinde’s people-oriented leadership and his passionate commitment to developing Oke Ogun area through several landmark infrastructure projects, health sector and agribusiness development initiatives should be allowed to continue for eight years.

A communique issued at the end of meeting was signed by 10 leaders drawn from all the local governments, including Hon. Doyin Babalola (Iseyin), Hon. Bolarinwa Timothy (Iwajowa), Hon. Dayo Ogungbenro (Itesiwaju), Alhaji Yakubu Oladoja (Oorelope), Hon. Johnson Ojebiyi (Kajola), Alhaji Taoheed Olayiwola (Irepo).

Others were Chief Isaac Agada (ATISBO), Hon. Adekunle Rafiu (Saki West), Pa. Owookola (Saki East) and Mr. Adekunle Mustapha (Olorunsogo).
The communique read in part: “That our governor and leader of the PDP in Oyo State, His Excellency, Governor Seyi Makinde, deserves another term of office as a result of his people-oriented leadership and unprecedented development of Oyo State.

“That the priority attention being given to the improvement of the education and health sectors as well as massive welfarist programmes towards the workforce and the people of the state through prompt payment of salaries and pensions, increment in housing and car loans to civil servants and several pro-masses policies, is highly commendable.

“That the PDP in Oke Ogun, based on verifiable evidences of massive development in healthcare delivery, education, infrastructure and agribusiness across Oyo State and especially in Oke Ogun, hereby declares its total and unblemished support to the governor to run for a second term.

“That the massive developments and government presence in Oke Ogun under the Makinde-led administration cannot be discountenanced and that Oke Ogun people are ready to support the governor in order to continue to enjoy massive government presence.

“That the completion of Moniya-Ojutaiye-Iseyin Road; the Saki Specialist Hospital, Saki; the Oyo State Agribusiness Development Agency headquarters, Saki and the constructions of Saki Township Road, Saki-Ogbooro-Igboho Road, Oyo-Iseyin Road, the siting of the Ladoke Akintola University of Technology Campus in Iseyin, among others, have proved for all to see that Makinde is 100 per cent committed to developing Oke Ogun, which was neglected by past administrations.”

The party stakeholders equally hailed the chairman of the Oyo State Advisory Council, Senator Hosea Agboola, for his contributions to the development of Oke Ogun through his support for Governor Makinde’s administration.

They also charged the governor not to give any thought to needless attacks and call-outs by political elements, stating that the people of the state are solidly behind his government because it has continued to put their interests first in all policies and initiatives.

In attendance at the gathering were notable PDP leaders from the 10 councils.
The council chairmen including: Hon. Jelili Oyinloye Adebare (Iwajowa), Hon. Fasasi Adeagbo (ATISBO), Engr. Sarafadeen Omirinde (Saki West), Hon. Ramat Adeniran (Saki East), Hon. Akeem Raheem (Oorelope), Hon. Akintola Ojo (Itesiwaju), Hon. Mufutau Abilawon (Iseyin), Hon. Sulaimana Adediran Santana (Irepo), Hon. Julianah Oluwakemi Akanni-Ika (Olorunsogo), Hon. Salimonu Afolabi (Kajola), were also all in attendance

Also in attendance were the chairman, Oyo State Tourism Board, Elder Debo Adejumobi; Commissioner, Post-Primary School Teaching Service Commission, Alhaji Mudasiru; Special Assistant (Print Media), Moses Alao; Special Assistant on Saki West/Saki East/ATISBO Federal Constituency, Hon. Lukman Salami (Adamawa); member Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission, Alhaja Ganiyat Saka; member, OYSCATECH Governing Board, Hon. Lukman Balogun, among others.

288 Post Views

By oyonews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *