Spread the love

President Bola Tinubu has reappointed Mele Kyari as the group chief executive officer (GCEO) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company (NNPC) Limited, OYO NEWS reports.

Mele Kyari

According to a statement by Ajuri Ngelale, Kyari retained his position as NNPC chief, while Pius Akinyeleru was appointed as non-executive chairman.

Recall that a coalition of about 26 youth associations across the Niger Delta region, Niger Delta Coalition, on Wednesday, staged a peaceful protest in Warri, Delta State calling for the immediate sacking of the Group Chief Executive Officer of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited, Mele Kyari, over alleged misconducts, among others.

NNPC management has been going through changes after Oritsemeyiwa Eyesan was appointed as executive vice-president, upstream in September.

Also, Olalekan Ogunleye was appointed as the executive vice-president, gas, and new energy; and Adedapo Segun, executive vice-president, downstream.

Ajuri in the statement, said the appointment was in compliance with Section 59 (2) of the Petroleum Industry Act, 2021, adding that it is with effect from December 1, 2023:

The appointee are:

(1) Chief Pius Akinyelure — Non-Executive Board Chairman

(2) Mallam Mele Kolo Kyari — Group Chief Executive Officer

(3) Alhaji Umar Isa Ajiya — Chief Financial Officer

(4) Mr. Ledum Mitee — Non-Executive Director

(5) Mr. Musa Tumsa — Non-Executive Director

(6) Mr. Ghali Muhammad — Non-Executive Director

(7) Prof. Mustapha Aliyu — Non-Executive Director

(8) Mr. David Ogbodo — Non-Executive Director

(9) Ms. Eunice Thomas — Non-Executive Director

Furthermore, President Tinubu approved the appointment of two Permanent Secretaries:

(10) Mr. Okokon Ekanem Udo — Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Finance

(11) Amb. Gabriel Aduda — Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Petroleum Resources.

“President Tinubu anticipates the fullest measure of compliance with the performance-driven and results-oriented mandate of his Renewed Hope administration in the implementation of energy policy that will monetize all available oil and gas resources of today while paving the way for the total exploitation of new and cleaner energy sources of tomorrow by this distinguished team”, the statement read.


By oyonews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *