Letter Obaseki
Spread the love

Ahead of the September, 19, 2020 elections in Edo State, there have been a backlash of resignations from ‘trusted allies’ of the incumbent Governor, Godwin Obaseki.
Insinuations being given is that these resignations are pre-planned and are meant to teach the PDP candidate in the forthcoming general elections a lesson.
The resignation of Mr. Patrick Iyoha as Director of Obaseki/Shaibu Movement has further sent some shivers down the spines of Obaseki’s supporters. The tsunami list of many appointees of Governor Godwin Obaseki who have parted ways with the governor ahead of the September 19 gubernatorial election in the state is swelling up each day. It was learnt that Iyoha, who was also a member of the state Waste Management Board, communicated his resignation via a letter addressed to the governor recently.
About 42 political allies of Obaseki have resigned their positions in his administration. Three members in the board of Edo State Oil and Gas Producing Area Development Commission on Monday resigned their appointments, citing political and personal reasons.
The members are: Osamwonyi Atu, Emmanuel Odigie, and Rilwanu Oshiomhole, representing Edo-South, Edo-Central, and Edo-North respectively in the board of the commission. In their separate resignation letters dated July 27, they gave different reasons for their resignations.
Osamwonyi Atu resigned his appointment as member representing Orhionmwon in the Edo State Oil and Gas Producing Areas Development Commission (EDSOGPADEC) board. While he claimed to have resigned to focus on “family issues” that needed his immediate attention, it was reported that the decision was politically motivated. Also, Emmanuel Odigie, was the representative of Edo Central in the State’s Oil and Gas Development Commission. As the Chairman of Edo State Chapter of All Farmers Association of Nigeria (AFAN), Odigie had, in June, led Edo farmers to endorse Obaseki’s re-election.
Rilwanu Oshiomhole, represented Edo North senatorial districts at Oil and Gas Development Commission. Shortly after his resignation and defection to the APC, he met the candidate of the APC, Osagie Ize-Iyamu where he lashed Obaseki. He criticised Obaseki’s castigation of individuals instead of focusing on governance and policies, saying his administration had abandoned the people.
Similarly, two members, including Mr Gabriel Oiboh, Chairman, State Post Primary Education Board, also tendered their letters of resignation to the governor.
A notable appointee, Taiwo Akerele, who was the Chief of Staff to Governor Obaseki, resigned from the position in April, saying his decision to exit the administration “is based on administrative and governance grounds.”

Paul Ohonbamu, was the Edo State Commissioner for Communication and Orientation. He resigned from the cabinet of Obaseki barely a month after Akerele. Ohonbamu was a member of Edo State House of Assembly and one of those who stood by Oshiomhole during the time he had issues with PDP members in the state house of assembly.
Reacting to their resignation, the Special Adviser to Edo State Governor on Media and Communication Strategy, Crusoe Osagie, said, “This is to clarify that the resigned Board members of the Edo State Oil and Gas Producing Areas Development Commission are not members of the Edo State Cabinet.
“This clarification has become necessary, to correct the erroneous impression in the public domain that members of EDSOGPADEC (an agency of government) board are civil commissioners of the Edo State Government.
“Though these board members are sometimes referred to as commissioners, a title they share with their counterparts on the Board of the Niger Delta Development Commission, they are however not civil commissioners of the Edo State Government that assist with the day-to-day running of the government.”
√ John Mayaki – Chief Press secretary
√ Kehinde Garrick Osemwingie – Secretary to Uhumwonde LGC
√ Taiwo Akerele – Chief of staff
√ Paul Ohonbamu – Commissioner
√ Maureen Osaro Ekhoragbon – Vice chairman Ovia North East
√ Omua Oni-Okpako – commissioner
√ Fulani Yakubu Ekpeyoung -SSA
√ Hon. Adeyanju Noah – SSA
√ Madam Cordelia M. Iyogun – SSA
√ James Osheku – SSA
√ Louis Osamuyi Osayande – SSA
√ Ernest Unuaghon imina – SSA
√ Goodluck A. Uyigue – SA
√ Hon. Razaq Rotimi – SA
√ Olajide Victor Oloruyomi – SA
√ Smart Bank – SA
√ Chris Oseiwe Oribhabor – SSA
√ Comr. Solomon Okoduwa – SSA
√ Kennedy Itepu – SSA
√ Sabbath Egbeyon – SSA
√ Osamwonyi Atu – EDSOGPADEC
√ Emmanuel Odigie – EDSOGPADEC
√ Rilwanu Oshiomhole – EDSOGPADEC
√ Okondoh Patrick Iyoha – OSM State director
√ Gabriel Oiboh – Chairman post primary education board
√ Bright Njor – SA
√ Kingsley Ekueme – SA
√ Joshua Akhabue – SA
√ Oladele Ayotope Josiah – SA
√ Boyi Magdalene – SA
Osarobo Osaro Anthony – SA
√ Aibangbee Chico – SA
√ Obayagbona Augustine – SA
√ Otaniyen Igbinosa – Orhiomwon supervisor
√ Martins Ozakpolor – Orhiomwon supervisor
√ Vincent Ehibor – Orhiomwon supervisor
√ Christopher Adesotu – Chairman board for vocational and technical education
√ Aghedo Oscar – Secretary Ovia North East
√ Emike Obazee – SA
√ Monday Ogiegor – MD EDSTMA
√ Prince Lucky Igbinedion – SSA
We are told many are staying back to resign at the last minute.

By oyonews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *