Spread the love

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Seyi Makinde, candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) winner of the Oyo State governorship election.

Oyo News reports that Makinde defeated his closest rival Teslim Folarin, a sitting Senator and candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) at the polls held on Saturday.

The collation and announcement of results were held at the INEC office in Ibadan, the state capital.

The Returning Officer, Prof Adebayo Simeon Bamire announced the result on Sunday in Ibadan, the state capital.

Makinde polled 563,756 to defeat the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Senator Teslim Folarin who polled 256,685 and other candidates.

Meanwhile, there were other candidates that took part in the election including Adebayo Adelabu of the Accord Party and Tawfiq Tayo Akinwale of the Labour Party.

PDP in a statement noted that the victory of the party at the poll is a product of the voice of the people.

While thanking the people of the State for endorsing and affirming Makinde’s reelection bid, the party assured the masses of a better governance in Omituntun 2.0.

By oyonews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *